Community Meeting

NANOG 39 – Toronto – February 2007

delayed start! until 5:15

Agenda

- Steering Committee Report
- Programme Committee Report
- Mailing List Administration Report
- Merit Report
- Open Discussion

Please Interrupt

Steering Committee Report

New SC

- Joe Abley (new chair)
- Betty Burke (for Merit)
- Randy Bush (re-elected)
- Steve Feldman (ex-officio, PC)

- Chris Morrow
- William B. Norton
- Philip Smith (re-elected)
- Joe Provo (newly elected)

... and we said goodbye and thank-you to Jared Mauch

Charter Amendments

- 2006-01, Steering Committee Elections
- 2006-02, Mailing List Administrator Selections
- 2006-03, SC/PC Overlap Prohibited
- 2006-04, Programme Committee Selection

PC/SC Overlap

- Chris Morrow found himself on both the PC and the SC after the PC/SC overlap amendment had been passed
 - resigned from PC
 - remains on SC

New MLC

- David Barak
- Sue Joiner (Merit)
- Aleksandr Pilosov
- Rob Seastrom (chair)
- Brett Watson

and we said goodbye and thank you to Chris Malayter and Steve Wilcox

MLC/SC Dialogue

 We added the MLC chair to the SC mailing lists, and issued a standing invitation for him to attend the bi-weekly SC conference calls, ex-officio

Postel Network Operators Scholarship

- Award to enable a deserving network operator who would not otherwise be able to attend the ARIN/NANOG joint meeting, to do so
- SC appointed Randy to be their Postel Scholarship Wrangler

Increase in Meeting Fees

- Meeting registration fees were increased by \$100 in order to provide short-term relief to the NANOG budget
- We are also actively discussing other measures which might make a positive impact on the budget

SC/Merit Dialogue

- Joe and Don talked following a Merit re-org to discuss the future relationship between the NANOG community and Merit
- Don confirmed the Merit board's commitment to NANOG, short and long term
- Agreed that establishing a stable financial footing for the meeting is of high importance

Over to Steve!